PS3 Review: Crysis 2

 

Crytek produces well for PC, but does it do well on the PS3?

Ok…so you guys may or may not know that I’m a freak for the Call of Duty series and that because of the multiplayer issues I have been going crazy with the recent black ops. To be honest, I don’t think it’s my connection cause every other game works perfectly fine all the time and I’ve got a 1mb connection at home.

So I’ve been looking at purchasing another first person shooter to play multiplayer when my black ops multiplayer has lag issues.

The only reasonable option is Crysis 2…it only made sense…

Over here I’ll give you guys my first impressions of the game and link you guys to a video…

Alright, so I bought this game and to be honest. I’m loving the story mode. The maps are also incredible, the vertical ability in this game is a snipers paradise! The graphics as well add to the beauty of the game. The story is based in New York city (in the distant future).

 

New York by Spacemancer

New York city has become an “urban jungle” so to speak and is under Marshall law. The C.E.L.L organization is regulating the chaos. I can’t expand much on the story to be honest because I missed out on the first Crysis and I’m not too far into the first one to be able to give you guys a full detailed outline. However, I can talk about gameplay…

I’d have to say when playing this game I get an eerie feel from the Resistance series considering atmosphere (awesome lighting which resembles that of Killzone as well) and a somewhat similar gameplay engine to that of call of duty. In saying that, the runnning and pace tends to catch up with COD but does not mimic it’s engine.

I’d have to say I still prefer the gameplay of Call of Duty but I guess that’s because I’m so used to it. However, even the most die hard call of duty fans will not be able to resist Crysis 2. It’s a totally different world but holds resemblance to Call of Duty (namely black ops).

 

The Nanosuit 2.0

The game offers a lot of customization especially when considering the multi-player function. You have features that act as perks such as stealth and armour.  The game’s options of guns are quite impressive, but for some reason a lot of the weaponry feels the same. This is where call of duty reigns supreme. Each gun in call of duty has their special stats and is very obvious during game play. At times in Crysis 2, especially online…you feel that some guns are almost identical to each other. Maybe it’s my inexperience with the game but that’s what I’ve noticed so far.

At the end of the day, I have to compare this game to Call of Duty Black Ops simply because the COD franchise have been the benchmark since their establishment on the console market. If you’re looking for a good alternative to COD then you’ve found it right here in this post.

 

Kickin' Ass - One Freak at a Time

In my opinion though, it does not provide the intellect and gameplay to beat that of COD black ops. However, I must say at times the AI in the game can be super smart but where it lacks is the divergence of this intelligence. At times they can seem very stupid and too easy to kill so to speak.

Anyways, check out this video of the multiplayer trailer that I found on youtube.

My Final Verdict: I give this game an overall 3.5 out of 5. I love call of duty too much to rate this game higher than that. I feel that if Crysis was to overtake call of duty (which I rate at a 4.5, would have at a 5 if they did not have such annoying problems with the multiplayer) they’d need to still do alot of work. No offense to the makers of crysis, but Call of Duty for me is still the superior game.

Best Regards,

– Kiru

Posted on April 3, 2011, in Kiru, Video Games. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

